Dear Lindsay

Posted on January 1, 2011 by

2


An open letter from a concerned Lindsay Lohan fan.

By Gina Pusateri

 

Lindsay Lohan, alongside Lindsay Lohan, in The Parent Trap. Can you tell which one is British?

Dear Lindsay,

I knew the minute I saw The Parent Trap. My family went to see it in the theater and afterwards they could not convince me that both Hallie and Annie were played by the same actor (because among many reasons, one was obviously British). At only age 11, you stole the entire movie and made it look easy. And I, being another bright 11-year-old, recognized this. I instantly knew I’d be a Lindsay fan for life.

After that, the Olsen twins were out and Lindsay, you were in. Where Ashley and Mary-Kate made movies starring only themselves – filled with more cheese than substance – well into the 2000s, you and I were clearly growing up together. I watched the Disney Channel’s Life-Size not for Tyra (though it’s probably her best role), but to see you.

In 2003, I was in high school, and so were you – in Freaky Friday and Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen. I watched you in those movies and, with ease, I related not only to your characters but to you. Though I knew nothing about you personally, there was something so simple about being the same age and feeling like maybe – though in alternate universes – we were going through the same things.

Lindsay at her most fetch.

And then there was Mean Girls, which was (is) in a word – awesome. Not only was this movie everything I love about movies –  great writing, witty dialogue and hilarity in both its realism and extremism – but you were the star. Mean Girls also proved that you were not only a teen sensation; you were a legit actress.

Post-graduation, you and I had bright futures. You were going to go on to star in some more blockbusters followed by an imminent Oscar nom. I was headed to college, where I’d study to someday be an Arts reporter for the Chicago Tribune.

We all know the story of what happened next. We watched the disappointment of Herbie: Fully Loaded, your music industry disappointments, Just My Luck, and I Know Who Killed Me. I know the heartbreak of spending thousands of dollars on an out of state liberal arts education, only to move back in with my parents and find employment at a job that barely requires a bachelor’s degree. But the difference between you and I now is that, however unglamorous it is, I am firmly content with my life. But somewhere between then and now, you lost your way.

She's just counting sheep, right?

There’s not much that hasn’t already been said about the partying, the drugs, the shopping/hoarding, the lawsuits, the crazy family, the rehab and the vanishing act you’ve performed in your film career. But I want you to know that there are those of us who miss your presence as an actor and who really wish nothing but the best for you, if not because you’re almost always enjoyable to watch, then because we’re generally concerned about you. We and really hope that you get it together, girl.

I just want you to know that although you’ve struggled and you deal with problems I could probably never understand, that just as you were there for me when I was a young fan, I’ll be waiting to embrace you whenever you’re ready.

Love,

Gina Pusateri

